Mostly Cloudy

Wind: S at 15.0 mph

Windchill: 27°F (-3°C)

As of Mar 26 2019, 1:55 pm

Students »

  • Each day more than 5,500 students learn and thrive in Moorhead Area Public Schools. We are proud of your successes both inside and outside the classroom.
  • Bullying Prevention

SPUDS Landing »

Parents »

New Families »

Community »

  • From seeing how the district spends tax dollars to providing opportunities for lifelong learning, Moorhead Area Public Schools and the community are partners in education. We welcome your interest.
Lifelong Learning

Examples of Excellence

Moorhead Area Public Schools has a tradition of excellence. We have students excelling in academics, activities, arts, music and athletics at all grade levels, from elementary to high school, and staff members who are recognized for their work and their accomplishments. Here are some examples of excellence that exist in our district.



We Are Proud: 2019 Minnesota High School Fencing Championship

March 25, 2019

We Are Proud of Moorhead High School students Quinn Shynkaruk and Tyler Perlenfein who competed in the 2019 Minnesota High School Fencing Championships on Feb. 23-24 in Hopkins, Minn. In the individual men’s foil event, Shynkaruk placed eighth and Perlenfein placed 23rd. Joined by a third member of the Fargo-Moorhead Fencing Club, their three-man team took fourth place in the men’s foil team event. Additionally, Shynkaruk and Perlenfein’s performances resulted in the Minnesota High School Fencing Coaches Association ranking Moorhead High School fourth in the state for men’s foil fencing.

Categorized under: School

«  1 2 3 4 5  ...  » 

We Are Proud: Horizon Geography Bee

March 25, 2019


We Are Proud of Horizon Middle School East Campus student Santiago Buisan Twomey for winning the Horizon Geography Bee held January 10, 2019. Second place went to Peyton Mestery, and third place went to Rylen Wohlfeil. Buisan Twomey took the qualifying test for the opportunity to compete in the Minnesota State Geographic Bee. Their social studies teacher is Brandy Haugen. Mike Benson, Horizon social studies teacher, coordinates the Geography Bee. Read More

We Are Proud: 2018 North Dakota State High School Bowling Tournament

March 25, 2019


We Are Proud of Moorhead High student Jordan Vos who competed in the 2018 North Dakota State High School Bowling Tournament. Vos is a member of the Moorhead team that bowls out of Sunset Lanes. The Moorhead bowling team, which includes 17 students from the metro area, won the 2018 North Dakota State High School Bowling Tournament in November. Vos was one of two team members to earn Eastern All-Conference Team honors, and he was named the Most Valuable Bowler on the Eastern All-Conference Team. Read More

Moorhead wrestler places sixth at state

March 20, 2019


Two Moorhead High wrestlers qualified to compete in the 2019 State Wrestling Tournament on March 1-2 at Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

State qualifiers were:

  • Ryan Luthi, who took second place in the 138-pound weight class at the sectional tournament held Feb. 23 in Rocori, and
  • Riley Schock, who took second place in the 170-pound weight class in the sectional tournament.

Schock placed sixth at state. During the state tournament, he got his 110th pin to tie the school record held by Sam Grove. Schock ended his career at 184 overall wins, missing the record for overall career wins by three.

Photo: Moorhead High’s Riley Schock competes against Matt Boyum from Chaska in the wrestling state tournament. Photo credit: Joleen Giefer

Read More

We Are Proud: MAA American Mathematics Competition 8

March 11, 2019


We Are Proud of Jinu Lee, Horizon Middle School West Campus student, for competing in the Mathematical Association of America’s American Mathematics Competition for middle school students. The AMC 8 is a 25-question, 40-minute examination in middle school mathematics designed to promote the development of problem-solving skills. Lee placed first with his score of 17 in the competition at Carl Ben Eielson Middle School in Fargo. He also placed first in the section (sixth-grade students), earned an Honor Roll certificate for scoring in the top 5 percent nationally, and earned a certificate of achievement for students in grade 6 and below who score higher than 15. Lee’s teacher is Christy Leier, his math teachers are Jenna Trosvik and Rick Eidsness, and his gifted and talented teacher is Leigh Dornfeld. Read More

We Are Proud: District Spelling Bee

March 11, 2019

We Are Proud of the winners of the Moorhead District Spelling Bee on Jan. 25 at Horizon Middle School East Campus. Aiden Williams placed first, and Avery Hagen took second. Williams and Hagen advanced to the Region Spelling Bee in Fergus Falls on Feb. 5. The Spelling Bee coordinator is Leigh Dornfeld.
Read More

We Are Proud: Class AA State Gymnastics Assistant Coach of the Year

March 11, 2019


We Are Proud of Dave Velaski, Moorhead High gymnastics assistant coach, for being named Class AA State Gymnastics Assistant Coach of the Year. Read More

We Are Proud: Moorhead High Gymnastics

March 11, 2019


We Are Proud of Moorhead High School student Riley Kvalevog who qualified for the 2019 Class AA state gymnastics meet in vault. Kvalevog placed seventh at state on the vault with a career-high score of 9.625. Kvalevog earned All-State Honorable Mention for bars, beam, floor and all-around. Paityn Ness earned All- State Honorable Mention on vault and beam, and Mady Dahl earned All-State Honorable Mention on beam. The gymnastics team earned a Gold Academic Award with a 3.893 cumulative GPA. Head coach is Toni Kleber, and assistant coaches are Michelle Ziebarth and Dave Valeski.
Read More

We Are Proud: MNSOTA Middle Level Honors Orchestra

March 11, 2019


We Are Proud of Moorhead High School student Iris Ming for being selected for the MNSOTA Middle Level Honors Orchestra. The Middle Level Honors Orchestra performed Feb. 16 during the Minnesota Music Educators Association Convention at the Minneapolis Convention Center. Ming is a student of Moorhead High orchestra teacher Anthony Eddleston. Read More

We Are Proud: Girls Soccer Coaches

February 11, 2019


We Are Proud of Nicole Wiesner, Moorhead High School girls soccer head coach, and Marco Compoverde, girls soccer assistant coach, for being honored by the Minnesota Soccer Coaches Association. Wiesner was recognized as the Section 8AA Girls Soccer Coach of the Year, and Compoverde was named Assistant Girls Soccer Coach of Year for Section 8AA. Read More

We Are Proud: Moorhead High Boys Cross Country

January 28, 2019


We Are Proud of the Moorhead High School boys cross country team for winning the Section 8AA Championship on October 25 in Thief River Falls to qualify for the 2018 Class AA state tournament at St. Olaf College in Northfield. The team placed 11th overall at state. The Spuds were led by All-State runners Zach Johnson, who placed 18th overall, and Dawson Strom, who placed 25th overall. Other team members are Sam Gebhart, Elijah Harvala, Jacob Kunka, Evan Myran, Billy O’Connor, Granton Schneider and Isaac Wicklund. Cross country coaches are Jeremy Blake, Erik Hanson, Isaac Lundberg, Dan Dooher, Brian Meyer and Justin Gall. Read More

«  1 2 3 4 5  ...  »