Wind: S at 10.4 mph

Windchill: 52°F (11°C)

As of Jun 5 2024, 6:35 am

Students »

  • Each day more than 5,500 students learn and thrive in Moorhead Area Public Schools. We are proud of your successes both inside and outside the classroom.
  • Bullying Prevention

SPUDS Landing »

Parents »

New Families »

Community »

  • From seeing how the district spends tax dollars to providing opportunities for lifelong learning, Moorhead Area Public Schools and the community are partners in education. We welcome your interest.
Lifelong Learning

Examples of Excellence

Moorhead Area Public Schools has a tradition of excellence. We have students excelling in academics, activities, arts, music and athletics at all grade levels, from elementary to high school, and staff members who are recognized for their work and their accomplishments. Here are some examples of excellence that exist in our district.



We Are Proud Jack Lee

March 17, 2020

We are proud of Jack Lee, Moorhead High School nordic skier who represented the Spud boys at the state meet. Lee competed at state and finished 43rd out of 158 participants, improving on his 74th placement from last year. The Boys Nordic Ski team is coached by Tom Dooher, Sofie Overturf and Josh Hagen. 

Categorized under: School

«  1 2 3 4 5  ...  » 

We Are Proud Nordic Ski Team

March 16, 2020


We are proud of the Moorhead High School Girls Nordic Ski Team on placing 12th at state.

Read More

We Are Proud Wrestling

March 13, 2020


We are proud of Moorhead High School wrestlers Evan Fankhanel, Ryan Luthi and Xander Risdal for qualifying for the state tournament at the end of February.

Read More

We Are Proud Carter Andreasen

March 12, 2020


We are proud of Moorhead High School freshman Carter Andreasen for acceptance into and participation in the Minnesota String and Orchestra Teachers Association's Middle Level Honors Orchestra.

Read More

We Are Proud Kai Holm

March 11, 2020


We are proud of Moorhead High School Senior Kai Holm on his appointment to the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, New York.

Read More

We Are Proud D'Agostino

February 27, 2020


We Are Proud of Moorhead senior Chrisanto D'Agostino, who won a national weightlifting title at the National Junior Championships in Pleasanton, Calif. Read More

We Are Proud Green

February 26, 2020


We Are Proud of Alison Green, Moorhead Area Public Schools accountant, who achieved the Certified Administrator of School Finance and Operations certification. Read More

We Are Proud Lee

February 25, 2020


We Are Proud of Jinu Lee, 7th-grade student at Horizon East Middle School, who placed first out of 100 participants in a local math competition, scoring a 20 out of 25 questions. Read More

The Superintendent’s Spud Award

February 19, 2020


The Superintendent’s Spud Award is presented to School Board Members Cassidy Bjorklund, Melissa Burgard, Kara Gloe, Keith Vogt, Rachel Stone, Matt Valan, and Scott Steffes. Read More

We Are Proud Football

January 30, 2020


We Are Proud of the Moorhead High School football team for winning the Minnesota Class 5A Section 8 championship to advance to the state tournament. Moorhead was narrowly defeated by Elk River in the state quarterfinals. Team members are Jonny Franklin, Tanner Kainz, Brady Walthall, Blake Walthall, Carson Zimmel, Dylan Dittes, John Paul Silverman, Drew Hagen, Carson Wendt, George Nyanforh, Zach Hilber, Samer Waz, Thomas Myers, John Lehrer, Caden Berg, Jack Schaub, Andrew Taylor, Maxwell Delbrune, Ernie Gonzalez, Jamal Dixon, Zach Taft, Keanan Wendt, Rafe Rasmussen, Mahmood Younis, Giulio Angotti, Austin Altepeter, Arzheen Shahin, Jackson Gotta, Scott Verkuilen, Justin Burnside, Hayden Netland, Haakon Peterson, Nathan Johnson, Conner Heinsch, Kalob Paquin, Alex Woida, Keeton Miosek, Zion Dyer, Christian Thingvold, Samuel Mcmanigle, Jackson Young, Carter Brooks, Jack Newcomb, Max Soeth, Alexander Pahl, Parker Buckner, Ian Klein, Jacob Wesley, Landon Berry, Karsten Stumo, Christian Vega, Alex Wolf, Nolan Maier, Jaydon Coley, Zane Linn, Gavin Sorby, Seth Anderson, Tyler Martin, Ellanius Davis, Jack Teiken, Alonn Salman, Gavin Quade, Michael Haugo, Quinten Peterson, Clayton Hagenbeck, Houston Hall, Brett Letness, Ignacio Delgado, Caden Triggs, Micah Jackson, Logan Hilber and Saif Allawi. Head coach is Kevin Feeney, and assistant coaches are Eric Paul, Justin Behm, Brandon Yoney, John Lubitz, Eric Stenehjem, David Kanuch, Alex Moses, Nick Eldred, Paul Cragg, Gerad Fugleberg, Matt Anderson, Spencer Stowers and Adam Schueller. Read More

We Are Proud Newcomb & Wesley

January 29, 2020


We Are Proud of Moorhead High's Jack Newcomb and Jacob Wesley for receiving the Minnesota State High School League’s Most Valuable Teammate Award for the week of Dec. 12 for their acts of kindness toward a football teammate. Newcomb and Wesley helped organize 70 Moorhead athletes and coaches to congratulate their teammate as he completed his final treatment for Hodgkin’s lymphoma. They all gathered at Roger Maris Cancer Center, surprising the teammate as he walked out. Read More

«  1 2 3 4 5  ...  »