Wind: N at 0.0 mph

Windchill: N/A

As of Jan 20 2020, 5:53 am

Strategic Planning

Students »

  • Each day more than 5,500 students learn and thrive in Moorhead Area Public Schools. We are proud of your successes both inside and outside the classroom.
  • Bullying Prevention

SPUDS Landing »

Parents »

New Families »

Community »

  • From seeing how the district spends tax dollars to providing opportunities for lifelong learning, Moorhead Area Public Schools and the community are partners in education. We welcome your interest.
Lifelong Learning

We Are Proud

Moorhead Area Public Schools recognizes outstanding achievements of students, staff and community members in the We Are Proud section of the School Board agenda. These achievements are acknowledged to the audience and retained in the district permanent records.



We Are Proud: 2020 Teacher of the Year Building Representatives

January 13, 2020

We Are Proud of the 2020 Teacher of the Year Building Representatives. Each school selects a teacher of the year for that school, and the Moorhead Teacher of the Year is selected from these candidates. The 2020 Teacher of the Year Building Representatives include:

Kathleen Sayler, occupational therapist for Early Intervention Services at Probstfield Early Learning Center;
Julie Morlock, second-grade teacher at Dorothy Dodds Elementary;
Stacy Jenson, kindergarten teacher at Ellen Hopkins Elementary;
Ethan Schnabel, physical education teacher at Robert Asp Elementary;
Judy Werner, learner support services teacher at S.G. Reinertsen Elementary;
Kate Rockstad, fifth-grade teacher at Horizon Middle School West Campus;
Rick Eidsness, AVID/math teacher at Horizon Middle School East Campus;
Jon Larson, orchestra teacher at Moorhead High School; and
Sara Bucher, learner support services teacher at West Central Academy.

Categorized under: School

«  1 2 3 4 5  ...  » 

We Are Proud: Cross Country

January 13, 2020


We Are Proud of Moorhead High girls cross country team member Taylor Melton and boys cross country team member Granton Schneider for qualifying for the 2019 Class AA state tournament. Cross country coaches are Jeremy Blake, Dan Dooher, Isaac Lundberg and Erik Hanson. Read More

We Are Proud: Girl's Swimming and Diving

January 13, 2020


We Are Proud of Moorhead High girls swimming and diving team members Abbie Ishaug and Alayna Janke who qualified for the 2019 Class AA state swim meet. At the section tournament, Ishaug broke pool records at St. Cloud Tech and set new Moorhead school records in the 500-yard freestyle and 200-yard freestyle. Her first-place finishes in both events advanced her to the Class AA state swim meet. Additionally, Ishaug was named Section 8AA Swimmer of the Year. Janke broke the St. Cloud Tech pool record in the 100-butterfly at the section meet. Her first-place finish also qualified her for the state meet. Coaches are Pat Anderson, Jeff Schneider, Kjersten Frey, Kara Schmitz-Olson and Josh Starkweather. Read More

We Are Proud: Girl's Tennis

January 13, 2020


We Are Proud of Kylie Dumas and Azylen Lunak, members of the Moorhead High School girls tennis team, for winning subsection doubles to advance to the 8AA section tournament. It is the first time in 15 years that a Moorhead High girls tennis doubles team won the subsection. Head coaches are Jorde Hutton and Scott Matheson. Read More

We Are Proud: Jon Larson

January 13, 2020


We Are Proud of Jon Larson, orchestra teacher at Moorhead High School, for being named the 2020 Moorhead Teacher of the Year. Larson has been a teacher in the district for 17 years. Prior to that he taught at the University of North Dakota in Grand Forks, N.D., Bemidji (Minn.) High School, and Minnehaha Academy in Minneapolis, Minn. Larson earned his bachelor’s degree from Bethel University in St. Paul, Minn., and his master’s degree in music education from the University of Minnesota. He was selected as Teacher of the Year by the Education Moorhead Communications Committee. Read More

We Are Proud: Initiators Fellowship

December 9, 2019


We Are Proud of Rachel Stone, Moorhead School Board member, for receiving a two-year Initiators Fellowship for 2020-21. Stone was one of seven finalists selected from 80 applicants to be awarded the $60,000 fellowship from West Central Initiative, Initiative Foundation and Southwest Initiative Foundation. The fellowship program strengthens recipients’ leadership within their communities and supports the growth and development of their social enterprise ideas. Stone’s social enterprise focus is on youth leadership. Read More

We Are Proud: MSBA School Board Leadership Development

December 9, 2019


We Are Proud of Moorhead School Board members Melissa Burgard and Rachel Stone who have been honored by the Minnesota School Boards Association for completing the MSBA School Board leadership development program. The award recognizes those who have successfully attended the Phase I, II, III and IV leadership workshops. Read More

We Are Proud: 2019 Midwest Academic Talent Search

November 25, 2019


We Are Proud of Moorhead students who had outstanding achievement in the 2019 Midwest Academic Talent Search. Last school year 15 students at Horizon Middle School East Campus participated in the Midwest Academic Talent Search sponsored by Northwestern University. Qualifying seventh- and eighth-graders choose to take either the ACT or SAT to gain a more accurate understanding of their academic potential. Jackson Meissner, Layla Eisenzimmer and Stefan Pederson had outstanding performance on the ACT test. The Midwest Talent Search is coordinated at Horizon East by Leigh Dornfeld Read More

We Are Proud: University of Minnesota Science Teaching Award

November 12, 2019


We Are Proud of Eric Stenehjem, science teacher at Moorhead High School, for receiving the Sarah L. Tilman Memorial Science Teaching Award from the College of Biological Sciences at the University of Minnesota. The award recognizes high school teachers who have a tremendous impact on the academic and personal success of University of Minnesota students based on nominations from the students. Stenehjem was honored for his teaching and mentoring achievements at a recognition dinner Sept. 26. Read More

We Are Proud: National Merit Commended Students

October 14, 2019


We Are Proud of Moorhead High School students Emma Craig and Rachel Craig for being named Commended Students in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program. Nationwide about 34,000 Commended Students are being recognized for placing among the top 50,000 scores of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program. Read More

We Are Proud: Minnesota Hands and Voices High Five Award

October 14, 2019


We Are Proud of Krystal Anderson, deaf/hard of hearing teacher for Moorhead Area Public Schools, for receiving a 2019 High Five Award from Minnesota Hands and Voices, a program of Lifetrack. The High Five Award was created as a way for parents to publicly recognize individuals who have gone above and beyond on behalf of children who are deaf/hard of hearing. Anderson was nominated for the award by the Kitch family for her efforts to guide, teach and nurture their children. Their nomination said Anderson holds students to a high standard, not allowing them to use their hearing as an excuse, and she teaches students self-advocacy skills. Read More

«  1 2 3 4 5  ...  »