Wind: S at 29.9 mph

Windchill: 15°F (-9°C)

As of Feb 6 2023, 9:55 am

Students »

  • Each day more than 5,500 students learn and thrive in Moorhead Area Public Schools. We are proud of your successes both inside and outside the classroom.
  • Bullying Prevention

SPUDS Landing »

Parents »

New Families »

Community »

  • From seeing how the district spends tax dollars to providing opportunities for lifelong learning, Moorhead Area Public Schools and the community are partners in education. We welcome your interest.
Lifelong Learning


Measuring Achievement

Moorhead Area Public Schools uses a variety of methods to measure student progress and determine whether our students are meeting their learning goals. Methods include:

  • Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments
  • AIMSweb Plus
  • Various Literacy Assessments
  • In-class Unit and Skills Assessments
  • Common Assessments
  • College Admissions Tests

The administrative and teaching staff continue to develop programs to address achievement levels of all students. Teachers at all levels continue to develop and use district-wide common assessments to measure achievement in each grade level.

Read the district assessment plans below:

Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCA)

The MCA tests measure academic knowledge as described in the state standards for the areas of language arts and mathematics. Students in grades 3–8 and 10 take the MCA tests in reading, while students in grades 3-8 and 11 take the MCA tests in mathematics. Students in grades 5 and 8 and high school biology students take the MCA in science.

Results of these tests help the district make decisions about curriculum and assist in determining district, school and student progress on standards.

On the MCA, student performance is broken down into four achievement levels with level four indicating exceeding the standards. Students who score in level three are considered meeting state standards. Students scoring in level two partially meet the standards, and students scoring in level one do not meet the standards. Students in levels three and four are considered to be proficient.

Special testing accommodations may be made for students with special learning plans (e.g., IEP, 504, LEP). Some students may also be permanently or temporarily exempted. Please contact your counselor for more information.

Read the Annual Report on Curriculum, Instruction and Student Performance for MCA results and the overview of annual testing.

Parents/guardians have a right to not have their students participate in state-required standardized assessments. They may review and complete the form in the Minnesota Department of Education’s Parent/Guardian Guide and Refusal for Student Participation in Statewide Assessments.

Graduation Required Assessments

The 2015 Legislature eliminated the graduation assessment requirements. Students in grade 11 who wish to participate in a nationally recognized college entrance exam (ACT) are provided the opportunity to take the exam at the school during the school day. Students in grade 12 who have not taken a district-provided ACT may be eligible to take the ACT and should contact their principal for more information.

Related Information